top of page

Day 3 - TEST

The photo today has a theme of "test". When leaving my apartment to take a photo I truly had no idea what I would find. As I walked I thought about how the word "test" related to Lent. After walking for a few minutes and taking some random shots just for the fun of it, I came accross this water, with the light glistening off of the edges beautifully. At this point it hit me...Lent is a test of our ability to let God's light in to our lives.

Think about it. What did you give up for Lent? Have you been tempted to break your Lenten promise? I will be honest, I have definitely struggled, especially with this blog. These sacrifices take up time that was once dedicated to watching TV or relaxing. Temptation is a test of our ability to say no to the devil and yes to God. It is an opportunity to strengthen ourselves emotionally and spiritually. Everytime I am tempted to break my sacrifice for Lent, I am empowered to know that I have the strength to stay true to my promise.

Anytime you are thinking about breaking your promise, think of Jesus. According to Matthew 4:1-11, He fasted for 40 days and 40 nights and still had the power to say no to the devil's temptation. After He refused to worship the devil multiple times, the devil gave up and the angels came to help Jesus.

As we move forward into Lent we must remember that with time our sacrifices will become habit. Each time we say no to our temptations, we are saying no to the devil and allowing the angels to help us, just as they came to aid Jesus. With every test from the devil, brings the opportunity to let more of God's light into our lives. Just like in my photo for today, the more light we let in by refusing the devil's tests, the more beautiful our lives can become.

bottom of page